About Tottenham Hotspur


As we all know, Tottenham Hotspur Football Club, commonly known as Spurs, is an English football club based in Tottenham Hotspur, London, and plays in the Premier League. This fantastic club made history by becoming the first British team to win a European trophy and win the first-ever organised UEFA Cup.

Basic Information

  • Full Name: Tottenham Hotspur Football Club
  • Nickname: The Lily whites
  • Short Name: Spurs
  • Founded: 5 September 1882; 139 years ago, as Hotspur F.C.
  • Ground: Tottenham Marshes (1882-1888) | Northumberland Park (1888-1899) | White Hart Lane (1899-2017) | Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (2019-)
  • Head Coach: Antonio Conte
  • League: Premier League


Tottenham Hotspur’s Latin motto is Audere est Facere (lit: “dare to do”), and as you can see, its logo is a rooster standing on a football.

Tottenham Hotspur FC was founded by a group of grammar school boys from All Hallows Church. At first, it was simply named Hotspur. Later, to avoid confusion with an older club called Hotspur FC, the club changed its name to Tottenham Hotspur. Shortly after entering the Southern Conference in 1895, Tottenham Hotspur began attracting large crowds to their home games. Their first moment of glory came in 1901, beating Sheffield United in the FA Cup final. In 1908, the club became a member of the Football League and successfully moved from the Second Division to the First Division in its first season. And they get stronger and stronger.

Established in 1882, Tottenham Hotspur is a fascinating club that first won the FA Cup in 1901. Winning this title is significant as it makes it the only non-league club to win the FA Cup since the Football League’s inception. Tottenham Hotspur has made quite a bit of history: it was the first British team to win a European trophy, and it was the first club to win a league and FA Cup double in the 20th century. And won the UEFA Cup for the first time organised. A very good club, right? Tottenham Hotspur is often referred to as “cup specialists” because of the club’s excellent performance.

As you can imagine, they have won a lot of trophies – including eight FA Cups, four League Cups, a Cup Winners’ Cup, and two UEFA Cups. Now let’s take a brief look at the excellent experience at Tottenham Hotspur. In addition to their long tradition of cup success, Spurs won the league twice in 1951 and 1961, and after successfully defending their FA Cup in 1962, became the first English club to win the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1963. In 1967, it won the FA Cup for the third time in the 1960s. Tottenham Hotspur won the League Cup twice in the 1970s and became the inaugural UEFA Cup champion in 1972, becoming the first English club to win two different major European trophies. During the 1980s, Tottenham Hotspur won multiple trophies: the FA Cup twice, the FA Cup, the Community Shield, and the UEFA Cup in 1984. In the 1990s, the club won the FA Cup and League Cup. When it won the League Cup again in 2008, it meant it had won a major trophy every time for the past six decades, an achievement only Manchester United could match.

Tottenham Hotspur timeline

1882 | The club is established as Hotspur.

1901 | Winning their first FA Cup title.

1908 | The club joins the Football League.

1909 | First season in the First Division.

1951 | First time national league champions.

1958 | Bill Nicholson is appointed as manager.

1962 | First European Cup Winners’ Cup title.

1971 | Winning their first League Cup title.

1972 | First UEFA Cup title.

1983 | The club signs a jersey sponsorship with Holstein.

2013 | Gareth Bale is sold to Real Madrid for an €100 million fee, a new club transfer record.

2019 | The club move to the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.


  • Domestic

1. League

● Football League First Division:

Winners (2): 1950–51, 1960–61

Runners-up (4): 1921–22, 1951–52, 1956–57, 1962–63

● Football League Second Division:

Winners (2): 1919–20, 1949–50

Runners-up (2): 1908–09, 1932–33

● Southern League:

Winners (1): 1899–1900

● Western League:

Winners (1): 1903–04

2. Cup

● FA Cup:

Winners (8): 1901, 1921, 1961, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1982, 1991

Runners-up (1): 1987

● League Cup:

Winners (4): 1971, 1973, 1999, 2008

Runners-up (4): 1982, 2002, 2009, 2015

● FA Charity Shield:

Winners (7): 1921, 1951, 1961, 1962, 1967*, 1981*, 1991* (* shared)

Runners-up (2): 1920, 1982

  • European

● European Cup/UEFA Champions League:

Semi-Finals (1): 1961–62

Quarter-Finals (1): 2010–11

● UEFA Cup:

Winners (2): 1972 (inaugural winners), 1984

Runners-up (1): 1974

● UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup:

Winners (1): 1963

● Anglo-Italian League Cup:

Winners (1): 1971